on travel, thoughts, and the art of short fiction

Suddenly, I am a tall woman

In Mozambique on March 4, 2008 at 7:12 am

Mozambicans tend to be on the short side and slender. I’m 5’6″ and I feel like a tree stump sometimes in the U.S. but here, I am the height of an average man, or a little bit taller. t’s like when I was in Thailand where everyone was for the most part tiny tiny tiny.

I get so claustrophobic in my bathroom shower hut because the thatched roof is only three inches from the top of my head and it’s teeming with giant spiders and roaches. Way too close for comfort.

Leave a Reply

